Rough Ol’ Weather

Rough Ol’ Weather        12 June 2011            9.15pm

Mid June and it could be mid winter. It’s cold again, with beating rain and gusty squalls (up to force 7). When ‘Dog’ and I go out today, I wear tights, a woolen skirt, a jumper and a fleece with the hood up, like a delinquent, and hurry along with my head down, grumbling. ‘Dog’ seems pleased to go for a walk but is even more delighted to be back at home, being toweled dry and given a ‘Reward’ biscuit. Today we only venture out twice because the rain hasn’t stopped and it’s hard unfriendly rain. It’s the time of year now for the ‘Red Hat’ to be worn as the grasses are all spiky with seeds which get into the ears of Cocker Spaniels, causing pain and trouble; with the hat on, her head is the only part of her that isn’t soaking wet!

I am sitting in the study writing this, looking around at the piles of books and files and wondering about putting some of them back on the bookshelves if I can find space; a small spider is doing a high wire act between my desk and the window sill on an almost horizontal filament. How do they do that? I have been watching its progress across the divide. Housework, what housework? Outside the window, the trees are being beaten by the restless wind and the light is fading; I can hardly believe it’s nearly the longest day of the year. When I was younger we would play tennis in June until late in the evening. Not tonight.

The garden is tatty and battered; I had to bring the seedling trays back into the ‘Conservatory’ as the little winter pansy plants were drowning outside, in so much water, but the lawns that previously were brown and dry have turned green again, which is a bonus. The white flowers of the Philadelphus, the pale lemon Honeysuckle flowers and pink roses on the rose arch were scenting the air a few nights ago but sadly not in this weather.  Return bright sunshine, please. It’s Monday tomorrow and I will have washing to put in the garden.

2 thoughts on “Rough Ol’ Weather

  1. Thanks for the compliment; I have been thinking of sending samples of my writing somewhere! but I’m not sure how to start!!

Leave a comment